Humble Beginnings

Welcome to my first attempt at blogging. I have a lot in store for this little corner of the internet! Let me start by introducing myself. I am Redwyn, a 34-year-old pansexual  FTM (If you are unsure of what those letters mean, stick with me for a bit and I’ll explain.) I suffer from chronic anxiety, depression, and chronic pain. I am an introvert, and I am an opinionated asshole.

So what the hell am I am starting a blog for? What will I talk about? Excellent questions! I’m not entirely sure what I hope to gain from this experience, but I can tell you what I hope to see this blog become… A collection of rants and ramblings from a very frustrated Transgender man, about all things Trans*. I will most certainly offend people, I will say things no one agrees with. I will say things that others seem too afraid or uptight to say. We’ve become too politically correct while somehow managing to hold on to our fear, hatred, and bigotry. I am disgusted by it all and I cannot sit quietly any longer. So, this is my voice. This blog is me standing up and saying what I need to say.

Now, let’s learn a little something shall we? Remember above where I said to stick with me and I would explain the term FTM? It’s not just FTM you will need to be familiar with but the whole entire lexicon of LGBTQ* terminology. The problem is, I don’t even know all of the terminology, so how is the average non-LGBTQ* person supposed to know what’s what when our own community members can’t keep up? It’s simply not possible. But for the sake of this blog, I will help out with the terms you might commonly see used. And by no means should these definitions be considered the only or correct definitions. I am not a linguist, I am not a doctor of any sort, I am not an authority on anything except myself and I am simply defining things based on my own knowledge and experience (and stealing a bit from various websites). I am open to corrections being made and terms being added.

It is also EXTREMELY important to remember that regardless of anyone’s definition of any given word, it is imperative to always respect what a person identifies as. If someone hates the term MTF, then don’t use it to refer to them. Respect the labels (or lack thereof) that a person has. I dislike using AFAB, I prefer FTM or Transman. Others HATE FTM. It’s a personal preference, and we should all be respectful.

I can’t make an exhaustive list, I do have other things happening in my life, but here is the basics:

AFAB: Acronym for Assigned Female At Birth

AMAB: Acronym for Assigned Male At Birth

Cisgender: Simply put. Someone who identifies with the gender/sex they were assigned at birth.

Female-to-Male (FTM): A person assigned female at birth but now identifies as male. An FTM may pursue hormone replacement therapy and/or sexual reassignment surgery.

Gender identity: The gender a person identifies with regardless of genitals and chromosomes.

Genderqueer: People with identities that fall outside of the widely accepted sexual binary (i.e. bi-gender, a-gender)

Intersex: A person whose sexual anatomy or chromosomes do not fit with the traditional markers of “female” and “male.” In the past, the term hermaphrodite was associated with intersex people. This is both offensive and inaccurate! Do not use hermaphrodite to refer to a human being!

LGBT, LGBTQ, LGBTQA:  Ahhh acronyms…. So useful and yet so irritating. These are the common ones and typically represent Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and finally Asexual. Of course, those acronyms leave out a large number of people (Intersexed, allies, Questioning, the various identities covered under the Trans* umbrella term…) Sometimes people get a little crazy trying to be inclusive with the acronyms (LGBTQQIAA…. seriously?) So chances are I will try to keep it simple and include an asterisk to note that I am not excluding anyone, I am just a lazy typist.

Male-to-Female (MTF): A person assigned male at birth but now identifies as female. An MTF may pursue hormone replacement therapy and/or sexual reassignment surgery.

Pansexual: A person who experiences sexual, romantic, physical, and/or spiritual attraction for members of all gender identities/expressions, not just people who fit into the standard gender binary (i.e. men and women).

Queer: 1) An umbrella term sometimes used by LGBTQA people to refer to the entire LGBT community. 2) An alternative that some people use instead of labels and categories such as lesbian, gay, bisexual, etc. It is important to note that the word queer is an in-group term, and a word that can be considered offensive to some people, depending on their generation, geographic location, and relationship with the word.

Questioning: For some, the process of exploring and discovering one’s own sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression.

Sexual orientation: The type of sexual, romantic, and/or physical attraction someone feels toward others. Often labeled based on the gender identity/expression of the person and who they are attracted to. Common labels: lesbian, gay, bisexual, pansexual, etc.

Tranny / transie: slang terms for transgender or transsexual. Some people find these highly offensive, while others may be comfortable with them as a self-reference, but consider them derogatory if used by outsiders. It is typically wise to avoid these terms.

Trans*: An umbrella term for a wide variety of gender variant people.

Transgender: literally “across gender”; sometimes interpreted as “beyond gender”; a community-based term that describes a wide variety of cross-gender behaviors and identities. This is not a diagnostic term, and does not imply a medical or psychological condition. Avoid using this term as a noun: a person is not “a transgender”; they may be a transgender person.

Transition: a term meaning the period of time when a transgender or transsexual person is learning how to cross-live socially as a member of the sex category opposite their birth-assigned sex, or is engaged in early hormone use. Some people use this term to describe their medical condition with regard to their gender until they have completed the medical procedures that are relevant for them.

Trans man/ Transman:  Alternative to FTM.

Transphobia: The fear or hatred of transgender people or gender non-conforming behavior.

Transsexual: A person whose gender identity is different from their biological sex, who may undergo medical treatments to change their biological sex, often times to align it with their gender identity, or they may live their lives as another sex.

Transvestite: A person who dresses in clothing stereotypical of the opposite gender but has no desire to alter their sex and identifies with the gender they were assigned at birth.

Trans woman/ Transwoman; Alternative to MTF.

So that’s it. Stay tuned for some actual rants!

Leave a Reply

